How To Unsync Google Photos from iPhone

How To Unsync Google Photos from iPhone

If you’re a person who loves to take photos or download pictures, storage shortage could be a problem for you and force you to purchase iCloud for additional storage.

Fortunately, with Google Photos, you can have unlimited cloud storage for your photos and videos for free.

However, if you’ve already tried it and thought that Google Photos just isn’t for you and want to delete the app, you might want to unsync your phone.

To unsync google photos from your iPhone, you can follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Google Photos app on your phone.
  2. Tap the menu button located on the left top corner of your phone.
  3. Click the setting, then go to the ‘Back up & Sync’ section.
  4. Then, disable the ‘Back up & Sync’ option.

To delete all content you uploaded to Google Photos; you can follow the steps below:

  1. Open your computer or iPhone browser (Safari, Chrome, etc.)
  2. Go to photos.google.com.
  3. Choose the pictures and videos you want to delete. You must note that Google has a limit of selecting 500 photos to delete at a time.
  4. Tap the ‘trash can’ logo in the top right corner of your phone.
  5. Then, tap the ‘menu’ logo in the top left corner, then go to ‘Trash.’
  6. Tap ‘Empty Trash.

Disable Google Photos Sync or Stop Auto Backup of Google Photos

If you want to stop Google Photos from automatically syncing your iPhone pictures, follow these steps:

  1. Open your ‘Google Photos app, then tap the ‘menu’ logo on the top left corner.
  2. Go to settings, then select the ‘Back up & Sync.’
  3. Then, turn off the toggle on the side of ‘Back up & Sync.’

Delete Photos From Google Photos But Keep on Device

If you delete your photos from the Google Photos app on your phone, your iPhone pictures might be deleted.

To avoid this, you could follow the steps below:

  1. Delete the ‘Google Photos’ application
  2. Go to ‘photos.google.com/login.’
  3. Login using the Gmail account that you used to back up your photos.
  4. Tap the 3 vertical small circles on the top right corner, then tap ‘select photos.’
  5. Choose the photos you want to delete, then tap the ‘trash can’ icon and select ‘got it’ on the pop-up.
  6. All photos are now deleted from your Google Photos.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Google Photos safe and private?

Yes, Google Photos is safe and private. Everything you upload to the app is only visible to you until you change its permission.

You could change the permission by logging in and changing it by yourself.

How to upload photos to Google Photos?

You could upload photos to Google photos by signing in with your Google account and then turning on the ‘Back up & Sync.’ Generally, you must note that it will automatically upload all your photos to the app.

Then, set the quality and choose whether you want it to upload photos while using Wi-Fi only or while also using cellular data.

How to delete my pictures on my Google Photos but not on my iPhone?

You can delete your pictures on your Google Photos and not on your iPhone by going to ‘photos.google.com.’ Select the photos you want to delete and tap the ‘trash can’ logo.

How to unlink Google Photos from my account?

To unlink Google Photos from your account:

  1. Open the application and tap the menu logo in the top left corner.
  2. Go to settings and find the ‘Google Photos’ section.
  3. Select the ‘Unlink account’ and follow the needed instructions.

Could deleting Google Photos also delete my iPhone photos?

Yes, it could delete your iPhone photos if you delete your Google photos incorrectly.

How to share photos and albums with Google Photos?

You can share your photos by opening the application and selecting the photo you want to share. Then, tap the ‘Share’ button in the lower-left corner and type the person’s name, phone number, or email.

Also, you can share your albums by doing the same steps in sharing your photos and just choosing the album instead of photos.

Why are my iPhone photos being saved to Google Photos?

Your iPhone photos are automatically saved to Google Photos because you have the application installed and your account is signed in. The app automatically uploads and syncs your photo if you have Wi-Fi or cellular data.

What can happen if I turn off Google Sync?

If you disable Google Sync, your iPhone will stop syncing with your Google Account.

Recent Posts