Table of Contents Hide
- Different Degrees Under Penal Code 22.041
- Kids On Online Classes and Parents Can’t Leave Work
- Types of Child Support Payments In Texas
- Frequently Asked Questions
- What is the legal drinking age in Texas?
- Can a 16-year-old apply for a driver’s license in Texas?
- What illegal drugs are allowed in Texas?
- Is abortion illegal for minors in Texas?
- What are the penalties given to child abusers in Texas?
- How long do juveniles in Texas stay in jail?
- Do juveniles get bail in Texas?
- Do pregnant teenagers have rights in Texas?
There’s no specified age at which a child can be old enough to be left at home without adult supervision. But according to Penal Code 22.041, parents might face criminal charges if children under 15 are home alone and incidents like a fire hazard, crime, or injury happen.
It’s considered child abandonment under Texas law if you were to leave a child, considering that you left them to go on their own.
Different Degrees Under Penal Code 22.041
Here it will be elaborated more on how a person in charge, in custody, or care of a child under 15 years old. There are different degrees under this penal code, to which a person can be punished depending on the circumstances.
Abandoning A Child But Intends To Return
If you’re proven to abandon a child but intend to return, you’ll be charged with a state jail felony. According to Texas Penal Code, a state jail felony will lead you to be sentenced to up to 2 years and have fines of up to $10,000.
Abandoning A Child But Didn’t Intent To Return
If you’re proven to leave a child and have no intention of returning, you will be charged with a third-degree felony. For that, you’ll be imprisoned for 2-10 years and have to pay fines of up to $10,000.
Abandoning A Child In Impending Danger
If you’re proven to abandon a child in an impending danger that may cause death, injury, or physical or mental impairment, you’ll be charged with a second-degree felony. For that, you’ll be imprisoned for 2 to 20 years and pay fines of up to $10,000.
Kids On Online Classes and Parents Can’t Leave Work
During the pandemic, kids get to have online classes, but parents who work in office-based need to leave their children to work simultaneously.
This dilemma is quite of a concern because parents think it’s unsafe to leave their children home alone, but it’s also a concern of being charged with child abandonment.
In Florida, there’s no specified rule or age on when it’s okay to leave your child at home alone. The National Safe Kids Campaign has recommended not leaving children with age before 12 and should be supervised by their older siblings who are not under 15 years old.
But it’s up to the parents assessment of how mature enough their child is to be left at home.
The law focuses particularly more on child abuse and child neglect. But DCF has created a list of questions for you to assess if the child is mature enough to be home alone.
Questions such as asking yourself if your kid can tell time or do you have neighbors that can be asked for help or assistance. So if you have decided to leave your child home alone, you should consider the following:
- Keep dangerous items out of reach and sight, such as firearms, sharp knives, or toxic items
- Keep them away or order them not to go near the people if you’re not around
- Make sure they are old enough to understand and be able to dial 911 in case of emergency
- Install a camera system where you can monitor your children even at work
- Food and water should be available
Take note that if you’re having doubts about leaving your children home alone, then it’s better not to risk it.
Types of Child Support Payments In Texas
There are 5 types of child support payments in Suit Affecting the Parent-Child Relationship (SAPCR) or divorce with children.
1. Current Child Support
The obligor, or the party the court assigned to the child support following the case, must provide depending on the amount determined on the obligor’s monthly net resources. The net resources will be coming from all the obligor’s sources of income and deducted with taxes, union dues, and health insurance for the child.
2. Medical Child Support
For the child’s medical insurance, the court can oblige either party to shoulder the insurance costs, which can be a lump sum or periodic payments. The amount needed for medical insurance should not exceed 9% of the obligor’s annual resources.
3. Dental Insurance
Generally, dental insurance is required in Texas. So if the obligor cannot pay for the dental insurance at a reasonable cost, one will be required to pay for all dental expenses of the child.
The reasonable cost to not pay for the child’s dental insurance is when the amount the obligor has to pay exceeds 1.5% of one’s annual resources.
4. Retroactive Child Support
All the childcare expenses in the past will be covered. The court can order to calculate all the childcare expenses back 4 years before the case was filed.
5. Temporary Child Support
This type of child support is implemented while the case is pending and usually ends when the case is closed.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the legal drinking age in Texas?
Only ages 21 and above are allowed to purchase and consume alcohol. Otherwise, minors under 21 years old could face charges such as Minor in Possession (MIP) or Minor in Consumption (MIC). Adults over the legal drinking age caught giving alcohol to minors can also face penalties and driver’s license suspension.
Can a 16-year-old apply for a driver’s license in Texas?
Yes, 16 years old can apply for a Texas driver’s license. They will be issued a provisional driver’s license until one is 18 years old and restricted by the following:
- If under the age of 21, one cannot have more than one passenger
- Wireless communication devices should not be used except if there’s an emergency
What illegal drugs are allowed in Texas?
There are strictly no illegal drugs allowed in Texas. Although they are referred to as controlled dangerous substances, such as heroin, cocaine, meth, and marijuana, they are only allowed and considered legal if prescribed by a doctor.
Licensed health care professionals can only prescribe such controlled substances if there’s a valid reason to prescribe one. Health care providers and pharmacists illegally selling prescription drugs will face penalties, including losing their licenses.
Is abortion illegal for minors in Texas?
Yes, as the state bans abortion after six weeks of pregnancy. But in the rarest situation, a minor can get an abortion without parental consent. If parents are not approved, they can get a judicial bypass, a legal document for the minor to file a petition, and attend a court hearing at least once.
What are the penalties given to child abusers in Texas?
According to Texas Penal Code 22.04, any person who intentionally and physically injures a child, which has caused serious impairment or deficiency, will be charged with a first-degree felony. The first-degree felony will lead you to 99 years or life imprisonment and pay up to a $10,000 fine.
How long do juveniles in Texas stay in jail?
Juveniles can only be imprisoned or under probation until their 19th birthday, regardless of the offense. Compared to adult courts, which for example, have committed robbery, must face 5 to 99 years of imprisonment.
But a juvenile that has committed a severe felony crime could be transferred to an adult prison with parole eligibility once one is no longer a juvenile.
Do juveniles get bail in Texas?
Juveniles can have their legal guardian get bail until their court hearing for the bail bond process. Generally, the minor retains a standard 10% bail fee from a licensed bondsman. The parent or legal guardian pays this price for their child’s release and is held responsible for the child’s attendance at court hearings.
Additionally, the juvenile can have their custody temporarily restricted while awaiting trial if they have enough money put up as collateral until then.
Do pregnant teenagers have rights in Texas?
Yes, which is implemented once you suspect that you are pregnant. But regardless of the state where you live, pregnant teenagers have the right to the following:
- One can stay and continue her education in school and cannot be forced to transfer to an alternative school, special program, or GED program
- Have the right to take time off school for prenatal checkups, childbirth or labor, or other health reasons
- One can decide if the baby is for adoption or not
- One can make decisions and have the right to consent to all health care regarding pregnancy and childbirth